Adoration and God. Not in the same sentence.


“…I do believe in God. I couldn’t write what I write about and be creative without a certain form of belief.”
-Nick Cave-

Nick Cave is a man who can write a better song just with a title then most so called artists ever write in their whole careers. “Your Funeral, My Trial” “From Her to Eternity”, “The First Born is Dead”, “Abattoir Blues” and “Dig Lazarus Dig!” are just absolutely gorgeous words. And they’re just album titles. His songs are chilling, dark and beautiful. Achingly beautiful. The way watching a soul escape a tortured body might be beautiful. They’re full of love in it’s most honest and most often darkest light. The truth of love I think is fully revealed in his music. There is no love without death. That grip of mania and blood that is only attainable within love. In Cave’s words a killer is truly bound to his victim in the moment of death. The killer loves in whatever way a twisted and vile heart may. And it’s all sung in a dark and sweet tone. And brought forth in a perfect poetry. He wrote the most beautiful love song that has ever been written “The Ship Song”. It’s poignant and powerful and lit with such a clarity that even the blemishes become more. The ugly part is given beauty. It is true art.

THE SHIP SONG

Come sail your ships around me
And burn your bridges down.
We make a little history baby
Every time you come around.
Come loose your dogs upon me
And let your hair hang down.
You are a little mystery to me
Every time you come around.

We talk about it all night long
We define our moral ground.
But when I crawl into your arms
Everything comes tumbling down.

Come sail your ships around me
And burn your bridges down.
We make a little history baby
Every time you come around.

Your face has fallen sad now
For you know the time is nigh
When I must remove your wings
And you, you must try to fly.

Come sail your ships around me
And burn your bridges down.
We make a little history baby
Every time you come around.
Come loose your dogs upon me
And let your hair hang down.
You are a little mystery to me
Every time you come around
-Nick Cave-

The image of crawling into a lovers arms and losing all defenses and arguments always gives me goosebumps. It’s so full of surrender and innocence. Like a soft sigh as you slip into a narcotic sleep.

And so there you go. I let the little strange man inside of me out for a walk, it seems very few ever understand it and most mis-read him and assume or dismiss it. I guess when you got a big ugly mug like mine and a tendency to look out-of-place and uncomfortable you can be dismissed as unfeeling and unthinking. Maybe if I sewed suede patches on my elbows and said $3 words at regular intervals I might be seen in a better light.

I truly feel like I am visitor here. Like some strange explorer, sent to map a new passage to some place where there is something greater, something better. I was born this way. I don’t feel persecuted, honest I don’t. I feel like perhaps I was given a gift and have yet to really use it or look clearly through it.

That’s why I search out God. I listen to the holy words and scriptures. Because I just know in there somewhere is my purpose and place. I don’t know why, but I know it, just as you know your own name. I am called in spirit. There is my truth there.

I am just tired and worn and the trip has been a long one.

Leave a Reply

