Sway, the wind moves me

Crucifixion

“2,000 years ago one man got nailed to a tree for saying how great it would be if everyone was nice to each other for a change.” – Douglas Adams –

I love that quote. It captures exactly what my faith means and why I am searching. I am not looking for great theology and dogma. Or rhetoric. I just want to live a life that is nice. Such an offensive concept in the past. Nice meant having no edge and being predictable and bland. But as I move down the path. I see that nice isn’t these things. Nice is calm, fortitude and faith. A good life lived well.

I have read the Gospels and heard the preachers and I am pretty sure nowhere does Jesus say “Hey listen, all the words and the ideas and the rules. That’s what I am here for. Keep it up, confusing the people was my plan all along”

If I could paraphrase his whole message it would be “You don’t have to live as you have and you can change and find a greater life. All you have to do is listen to the planets, stars, rocks, trees and soil. And for God’s sake be kind to one another, give when you can and love as much as you can. And don’t forget I am here, I am listening and I want to get to know you. It’s that easy.”

Sometimes I think maybe all the verses and scripture complicate things. I sometimes am filled with an unsettled feeling that Christianity might be better done without the Bible. Or at least without the terse paring and coring of every word. I think in my lifetime people have gotten a bad case of the DaVinci Code Blues. They want so much to find a deeper meaning, a hidden agenda and a secret experience. That they miss they most basic and humble sounds their souls make. Acceptance at face value is a huge leap of faith. And maybe that’s what we need now. The faith of a child. The eyes and heart of a child. To just see the bright light and exclaim “It shines!!!” rather than trying to dissect and demystify it.

Whisper to me, talk to me, signal to me. Let me know your light. All of you. And you too God. Bring me back to the flock, to the embrace of the shepherd. I have been out here too long, I cannot build the momentum, the velocity to burst into the atmosphere and come round the sun to find the land where you all are until you pull me from orbit. I’ve been up here alone too long.

My God am I alone. I am lonesome and feeling like a rare beast, caged for study. Knowing full well that when I die so does this species with me. But how can this be so? I cry like you, I laugh like you and I am bound to the fabric of time and destiny like you. Give me a berth and call me home. I want to know who you are.

Such a flagrant display of the esoteric today. What a cornball. Just to redeem myself and to eliminate the holier than thou light and the “I am a lonely little birdy” dance I may do, I will tell you I wrote this while listening to Ray Charles and glancing at my daughter’s Elmo doll. My philosophy is just a bum’s coin rattling in a paper cup. It’s nothing special.

But I do like to tell of it.

Leave a Reply

